Eurecom Institute

logo Eurecom The EURECOM Institute is an Economic Interest Grouping (EIG) founded in 1991 by the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications (Telecom Paris) and the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). EURECOM also has many academic partners (Politecnico di Torino, Helsinky University) and industrial partners (Swisscom, Thales, SFR, France Telecom, Hitachi Europe, STMicroelectronics, Bouygues Telecom, Sharp, Cisco, BMW Research).

The EURECOM Institute is a leader in teaching and research in the following three fields of expertise: Corporate Communications, Mobiles and Multimedia. Research is subjected to many scientific cooperations at the national, european and international levels. Since January 2003, EURECOM has also been associated to the CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research) "FRE 2660 Systèmes de communications".

The EURECOM Institute's Multimedia Communications Department plays an active role in many research projects on fundamental technologies in order to improve the processing and use of multimedia information. In particular, the department works on the indexing of stored multimedia information, so as to improve the research and retrieval of multimedia information, and the multimedia filtering, which can be used to automatically deliver the multimedia information to the concerned users. EURECOM has a strong expertise in video sequence analysis, proven through many research projects, for instance:
– SPATION, a European project in partnership with Philips Research, on the building of video summaries from data stored on a home network,
– GMF4iTV, a European project in partnership with Portugal Télécom, dedicated to implementing a complete chain for TV Programs with interactive visual objects (that can be clicked on to access additional contents), and its PORTIVITY extension, dedicated to mobile terminals.
– Since 2003, Eurecom has also taken part in the TrecVid assessment campaigns, in particular as far as detecting the semantic characteristics in video sequences is concerned, and is one of the organizers of the Technovision ARGOS project, on the same subject.

Website: http://www.eurecom.fr/

Institut Eurecom

logo Eurecom L’institut EURECOM est un Groupement d’Intérêts Economiques (GIE) créé en 1991 par l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications (Télécom Paris) et l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). EURECOM a également de nombreux partenaires académiques (Politecnico de Turin, Université d’Helsinky) et industriels (Swisscom, Thales, SFR, France Telecom, Hitachi Europe, STMicroelectronics, Bouygues Telecom, Sharp, Cisco, BMW Research).

L’Institut EURECOM a une vocation d’excellence de l’enseignement et la recherche dans ses trois domaines de spécialité ; les communications d'Entreprise, Mobiles et Multimédia. La recherche fait l’objet de nombreuses coopérations scientifiques, au niveau national, européen et international. Depuis janvier 2003, EURECOM est également un laboratoire associé au CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) "FRE 2660 Systèmes de communications".

Le département Communications Multimédia de l’Institut EURECOM joue un rôle actif dans de nombreux projets de recherche qui étudient les technologies fondamentales afin d’améliorer le traitement et l’usage des informations multimédia. En particulier, le département travaille sur l’indexation des informations multimédia stockées, afin d’améliorer la recherche et la récupération d’informations multimédia, et le filtrage multimédia, qui peut servir à diriger automatiquement des informations multimédia vers les utilisateurs concernés. EURECOM a une forte expertise sur l’analyse de séquences vidéo, menée au travers de nombreux projets de recherche, par exemple :
– SPATION, projet européen en partenariat avec Philips Research, sur la construction de résumés vidéo dans le cadre des données enregistrées sur un réseau domestique,
– GMF4iTV, projet européen en partenariat avec Portugal Télécom, sur la construction de programmes télévisés contenant des objets visuels actifs (que l’on peut cliquer pour accéder à des contenus additionnels), et son prolongement PORTIVITY, dédié aux terminaux mobiles.
– Eurecom participe également depuis 2003 aux campagnes d’évaluation TrecVid, en particulier sur la tâche de détection de caractéristiques sémantiques dans les séquences vidéo, et est un des organisateurs du projet Technovision ARGOS, sur le même thème.

Site Web : http://www.eurecom.fr/