Wikio

logo Wikio Wikio is a personalizable news page featuring a news search engine that incorporates any information coming from media sites or blogs. In total, Wikio has already identified more than twenty thousands information sources in French, that is to say the great majority of media sites and the best blogs. It is also available in German, English, Spanish and Italian.

Wikio provides a service both to Internet users and media. For Internet users, it lists all the information by topic and it brings to the media a larger audience. The added value of Wikio is that it is possible to find all the information in one place and to access it dynamically or through RSS. All the information is segmented into thematic flows in order to get pages dedicated to a specific field. The most commonly read information on Wikio is not the general news, but thousands of pages called "niche" which meet the needs of everyone and form what is commonly called the long tail (the sum of niches is potentially higher to the general information).

On www.wikio.fr, the Internet users customize their pages to follow the information they want. Wikio is also a participative service, each user being able to publish an article directly on the site, comment existing articles or simply vote for a news that seems interesting to them in order to improve its exposure on the site.

Although the information capture is automated, a team of research assistants classifies information sources and creates thesauruses so as to optimize the results and offer the best possible experience in terms of relevancy. Let's take the example of Web 2.0. The results will differ whether you enter "web 2" or "web 2.0" in a classical search engine, and they will only include information comprising the searched keyword in its title. On Wikio, some information sources specialized in Web 2, as Techcrunch for instance, will accompany the results even if the keyword is not included in the article. Moreover, a thesaurus composed of several additional requests will complete the previous information by giving, for instance, information on the Ajax programming language but not, of course, on the Ajax, Amsterdam's soccer team. In fact, on Wikio, the information is searched by topics rather than keywords.

Website: http://www.wikio.fr/

Wikio

logo Wikio Wikio est une page d’infos personnelle incluant un moteur de recherche d'informations qui agrège toutes les informations provenant des médias ou des blogs éditoriaux. Au total, Wikio a déjà recensé plus de vingt mille sources d’information francophones, soit la grande majorité des médias et les meilleurs blogs éditoriaux. Il est également disponible en allemand, anglais, espagnol et Italie.

Wikio apporte un service à la fois aux internautes et aux médias. Aux premiers, il recense l’ensemble de l’information par thématiques et aux seconds, il apporte une audience supplémentaire. La valeur ajoutée de Wikio est de pouvoir retrouver toute l’information à un même endroit et de pouvoir la consulter dynamiquement ou sous la forme de RSS. Toutes les informations sont segmentées en flux thématiques afin d’obtenir des pages spécialisées dans tel ou tel domaine. L’information la plus lue sur Wikio n’est pas l’actualité généraliste, mais les milliers de pages dites de « niche » qui correspondent aux besoins de tous et forment ce que l’on appelle communément la longue traine (la somme des niches est potentiellement supérieure à l’information généraliste).

Sur www.wikio.fr, les internautes composent leurs propres pages pour suivre l’information qui les intéresse. Wikio est également un service participatif, chaque utilisateur pouvant publier un article directement sur le site, commenter des articles existants ou simplement voter pour une news qui leur parait intéressante afin d’accroitre sa visibilité sur le site.

Bien que la capture des informations soit automatisée, une équipe de documentalistes classifie les sources d’informations et créée des thésaurus afin d’optimiser les résultats et offrir la meilleure expérience possible en terme de pertinence. Prenons l’exemple du Web 2.0, tapez « web 2 » ou « web 2.0 » et vous obtiendrez des résultats différents dans un moteur de recherche traditionnel, et exclusivement des informations disposant du mot clé recherché dans son titre. Sur Wikio, certaines sources d’information spécialisées sur le Web 2, comme Techcrunch par exemple, accompagneront les résultats même si le mot clé n’est pas inclus dans l’article. De plus, un thésaurus composé de plusieurs requêtes additionnelles viendront compléter les informations précédentes. On y trouvera, par exemple, des informations sur le langage de programmation Ajax mais pas, bien entendu, sur l’équipe de foot de l’Ajax Amsterdam… En fait, sur Wikio, on ne recherche pas des mots-clés mais de l’information thématique.

Site Web : http://www.wikio.fr/